Just a sight for USS Carl Vinson

USS Carl Vinson Aircraft Carrier in Manila Bay, May 2011

USS Carl Vinson Aircraft Carrier in Manila Bay, May 2011 (image from indiatimes.com)

Tuesday morning after my shift, about 8:30, I went to Roxas Boulevard in the city of Manila to observe one of the largest warship of the U.S. Navy, the USS Carl Vinson. The aircraft carrier is anchored off in Manila Bay for its four-day port call started Sunday May 15, 2011 with three other warships in the Philippines.

The USS Carl Vinson (CVN-70)

USS Carl Vinson is the third of the ten active Nimitz class  supercarriers of the United States. Nimitz class carriers are the largest capital warships in the world. USS Carl Vinson, with hull number CVN-70, becomes in fame after Osama Bin Laden’s death on May 2, 2011. Its overall length is 332.8 m, longer than the height of the Philippine’s tallest (under construction but topped off) skyscraper Gramercy (about 300 meters).

My Story

Overlooking some near areas along Roxas Boulevard, I did not see any aircraft carrier tower. I assumed that the warship would not make it to stay near Rizal Park since the area is too shallow. So I went to Manila South Harbor with just a chance that the ship is there….but I failed to see USS Carl Vinson.

Manila Bay from SM Mall of Asia

Manila Bay from SM Mall of Asia

I went to SM Mall of Asia. I remembered that there is a good vicinity at the back of that large mall where we can have  a wide sight of Manila Bay. The pooooof! There you are! But with disappointment. USS Carl Vinson is too far and so close to the horizon.

You, warship, now close but still too far.

You, warship, now close but still too far.

I don’t have a camera that can have a good capture of distant subjects. I only have my Nokia 5130 and an Apple iPod Touch.

Arrow shows the USS Carl Vinson

Arrow shows the USS Carl Vinson

My cameras hardly made the image of the warship visible. But with my naked eye, I can illustrate the carrier’s silhouette like this:

My own demonstration of USS Carl Vinson's Silhouette from my location.

My own demonstration of USS Carl Vinson's Silhouette from my location.

My expectations made me sad. But I’m thankful that I had a chance to be at about 15 to 20 kilometers from an aircraft carrier.

2 thoughts on “Just a sight for USS Carl Vinson

  1. aw.. NaDisappoint ka ba? Ok lang yan, may next time pa naman.

    I’ve been following your blogs simula pa kahapon. I find it interesting.

Leave a Reply

