CAMPUS LIFE: 2006-40325 @ the University of the Philippines – Los Baños [Part I]

Name: Marlon Anico Jaurigue
Student Number: 2006-40325
College: College of Arts and Sciences (CAS)
Home Institute/Department: Institute of Computer Science (ICS)
Degree: B.S. Computer Science

I can’t really remember the dates. All I know is that I found my name listed on an online UPCAT result for 2006. That was one of the best days of my life! Woooahhhh! Ang sarap ng pakiramdam. Parang naabot ko na ang pangarap ko, kahit hindi ko pa talaga alam ang gusto ko sa buhay.

UPCAT. Second half of the year. Most of the prime students lalo na yung galing sa mga private schools, they attended Reviews in preparation of that admission test. Pero kami ng mga higschool classmates ko, self-supporting na lang. Kung ano ang natutunan, yun na yon!

IV - Science

IV – Science

Very thanks to some of our highschool teachers. They lend their time to give us more exposure sa mga subjects tuwing Sabado. I’m fom a public school, San Pablo City National High School. So most of us are not that well-off and can’t afford to attend in a commercial review center.

EE Building, CEAT, UPLB (image from upbeloved.wordpress.com)

EE Building, CEAT, UPLB (image from upbeloved.wordpress.com)

Ayan na naman ako. I can’t really remember the date! But I was scheduled for Saturday afternoon exam. EE Auditorium sa loob ng EE Building sa CEAT. One pm. I was already there more than an hour before the exact time of the admission test. Nervous. I saw alot of cars coming. Jeeps. I had even saw busses. Nervous. On the second floor. Parents. Students like me. Ang dami nila! Ang dami namin. A number of them have their own cars. And I guess, some of them were with their family!

Then on the exam proper inside the auditorium, I tressured all the things I had in my pocket. My pencils were my very best friends on those moments.

[—exam exam exam exam exam exam exam exam—]

As much as possible I don’t what to talk about the items with my classmates after the exam. Dumadami ang mali ko habang nalalaman ko ang mga mali ko!
I passed the exam with a “wooooahhhhhhh!” sensation for weeks. I saved some downloaded html and css files. Alaala ng minsang “Woooooahhhh!” I got a letter a month later and it confirmed.

*******

[Defined on Wiki]

The University of the Philippines College Admission Test, commonly known as UPCAT, is part of the admission requirements of the University of the Philippines, administered to graduates of Philippine and foreign high schools. The UPCAT is considered to be the most competitive college entrance exam in the country.

7 thoughts on “CAMPUS LIFE: 2006-40325 @ the University of the Philippines – Los Baños [Part I]

  1. wow!!! Awesome.. I hope i could study also at UP. its my long time dream. nag-aaccept ba sila ng transferees from other university? bcoz wen i was in hayscul i did’t have the chance to take the UPCAT due to tight schedule dahi senior hihg is the last stay in hyscul.. Are u a graduate already? I am amazed with ur story. i hope i coud make my own too, someday!! 🙂

    Thanks for an awesome inspiration… Hope u continue to inspire other Young teenagers like me.
    Hope will meet SOON. i’m frm Bicol. University of Nueva Caceres

    • Yup, UP accepts transferees. I’m not just sure about the requirements. I’m an April 2010 graduate of UP Los Banos :).

      About the requirements, they might posted them online. You may also contact the registrar’s office of the autonomous campus of your choice. UP Manila has the highest cutoff followed by UP Diliman and UP Los Banos.

      Thanks for you comment. 😀

  2. Pingback: CAMPUS LIFE: 2006-40325 @ the University of the Philippines – Los Baños [Part III] « Lonlon's Crib

  3. Pingback: CAMPUS LIFE: 2006-40325 @ the University of the Philippines – Los Baños [Part IV] « Lonlon's Crib

  4. Wow! Same feeling po naramdaman ko last december. disadvantage po ba na hindi ako honor student? May paki po ba ang mga nasa UP kung honor student ka during high school?

Leave a Reply

